Why I Am No Longer Starting My Indie Makeup Brand – Things learned on the journey, and knowing when to quit

I’ve been promising a “Big Announcement” on here since last December, and I’m usually not the type to string people along like this. I don’t think too many people have been waiting with bated-breath (is that the expression? It sounds weird now I’ve typed it) to hear what it is, but I still want to take a quick minute to explain what it was, where I’m at and why things have changed.

Last year, I got pregnant in January, and not long before that I had begun to dabble in indie makeup and formulating cosmetics. I have always had an interest in making bath and body things, and have worked in beauty retail for a large part of my life, so being able to create my own beautiful and unique makeup was a lot of fun. I received many compliments on my handcrafted makeup, and eventually I decided I wanted to go further into this, and make my gorgeous creations available to the world! New Zealand is a bit out of the loop with the indie makeup scene, and I took great pride in knowing I could be a trail blazer.

Initially I hoped to launch around the time of my sons birth, October, but I had many complications in my pregnancy and needed a lot of rest, and I realised launching a brand and having my first child probably shouldn’t both happen at the same time. So I pushed the release date to February 13th (Friday 13th, haha) 2015 while continuing to work on my formulas, my branding, and of course taking care of my beautiful wee son.

makeup

Then my first real setback occured – an already established brand used the brand name I had chosen, for one of their projects. I won’t say what the name was, or who the brand is – it doesn’t matter. But this was rather devastating, as I had already put so much effort into making the logo, the Storenvy shop, etc with the brand name…I even have a stash of stickers with that name on them 😦 Cue world’s smallest violin, just for me.

But hey, I get knocked down, and I get up again! I decided I would use the name ‘Malfiore Cosmetics’, as the name and brand both signify a dark elegance. As if having a newborn hadn’t thrown life upside down already, my husband and I then made the rather difficult decision to move from Wellington to Christchurch. This wasn’t easy, as we loved our life in Wellington, but we are both people who rise to a challenge and take things in our stride. So that kept us very busy, but no regrets, we love it here!. Having a 5-month-old (at the time, now he’s 10 months) was a handful, he’s a great kid but it was always hard to find spare moments to work, especially keeping a clean, sterile and child-free workspace.

The final nail in the Malfiore coffin came as winter approached. I usually develop eczema most winters, it’s a seasonal thing, a combination of the cold plus heating, and I suffer quite severely. This is depressing to write about on a “beauty blog”, and initially I thought I’d share pictures but I won’t because I know most of you aren’t here to see that and don’t want to see things like that – fair enough. I keep staph under control, I regularly take antibiotics and prednisone (under a lot of medical supervision, I am aware of the pros and cons of these and drs agree this is the best course for me at the moment), and I am very clean and not contagious. I have grown used to this, and even though it can be quite obvious, like I can have peeling patches of skin on my face, I am comfortable in my own skin and confident in my looks. I hate dealing with the physical pain of it though, I often feel like I have arthritis, and a simple shower can be agonising for me. Some days, if I don’t have to go out, I’ll stay in a dressing gown, not because I’m lazy, but because clothes hurt too much. It comes and goes as the seasons progress though. Today I’m pretty good, bit of redness on my hands but that’s pretty typical on a frosty morning, plus I’ve got the heat pump on which is bad for my skin, but great for warmth!

Because of my eczema however, I decided I’m not in a good position to create Malfiore. You won’t “catch” anything from me, I  would be observing the highest hygiene standards, but I’m just not comfortable doing it. The beauty community can also be quite cliquey, catty and cruel, and I would be hurt if people trash talked my brand as being ‘dirty’ because of my condition. I also have very limited free time, and don’t know if I can commit to providing the high standard of customer service I would want to provide.

brusdh

The plus side (with me, there’s always a plus side. I am a resilient and positive person who believes in creating opportunities and enjoying life) is that I’m going to share my recipes, and all that I’ve learnt about creating an indie brand, with all of you. I found that the indie makeup world can be protective of their secrets, and that’s understandable, but I want to share the knowledge I’ve gained and put it to good use. I want to turn this ‘negative’ into a big positive.

Thank you for listening, and I hope this can be of some use to you. I look forward to posting more in future about indie makeup! If you have any questions, please feel free to ask, I would love to help.

3 thoughts on “Why I Am No Longer Starting My Indie Makeup Brand – Things learned on the journey, and knowing when to quit

  1. Nishu says:

    Awww..I feel your sadness and frustration girl 😦 Wanting to do so much but not finishing the time and energy to do it is the most annoying thing ever. I love your positive attitude though. I’m looking forward to your Indie Makeup posts. Good luck with your journey hun. and virtual hugs to your lil one!

    • Artemis says:

      Thank you! ❤ Yes, there are so many other wonderful things in life just waiting for me to get into so I can either sit around and feel bad, or I can get into my next awesome project. 🙂 I have so much planned for this blog, and another little side project too, so sometimes when life closes a door, it opens a window. And thank you so much for visiting my blog too!

    • Artemis says:

      And that wee boy of mine is a full time job too, haha! 😉 He’s even got his own ‘laptop’ to be just like mum – I’ve nicknamed him my “Sprog with a Blog”.

Leave a Reply

