Ro Vie Review – Pinkabelle Blush, Brazen Eyeshadow and Vixen Lipgloss!

I was delighted to win a lovely set from Ro Vie as a prize in December from the wonderful site Beauty Review! I had previously used their Chocolate Lime eyeshadow which I really liked so was keen to try some different things from this excellent NZ brand. As I’ve mentioned many times, I love supporting NZ and cruelty-free brands, so I was looking forward to trying these products and reviewing them for you on here.

ro1

Beauty Review sent me a sweet little pack to try. To be honest, I’m not exactly sure what I got as the sizes aren’t labelled – I’m assuming the blush and eyeshadow are sample sizes, and the lip gloss is full size? The lip gloss isn’t labelled at all, but I figured out it’s Vixen. I was a bit disappointed at the lack of labelling since I would have liked to have known the colour and ingredients, but it wasn’t a huge deal – I was easily able to look them up, and it was a freebie anyway so I can hardly gripe about that. It came beautifully packaged in a cute box and was a pleasure to open (“Why is it in a guinea pig box?”, my smart-ass husband asked. “Um, have you ever seen a guinea pig that small?!”, I replied). Seriously, I did love the packaging! I thought a business card or some branded stickers etc could have also added a nice touch, but that’s just my two cents.

ro10

My “Photography Assistant” samples the merchandise

Anyway, the products were fantastic! I received Pinkabelle blush, Brazen eyeshadow and Vixen lipgloss. I loved the look of Brazen – I’m not at all a pink girl so was hesitant at first about the others. I was determined to give everything a fair go though, and I’m glad I did. Everything was good quality, enjoyable to use, and looked great.

Pinkabelle Blush – I literally never wear blush, this is the only one I own (I don’t wear foundation so I never really see a need for it. That and I like to look unhealthily pale, so a pink, pretty, healthy glow isn’t the look I usually go for). I’m happy to have had the chance to try it though, as I was thinking with my new Baviphat CC Cream that I probably do need a touch of it. I found it difficult to use in the sample jar with sifter that I received, it didn’t come out very easily. However, once I got some out, I thought it was nice to use. The blush was a subtle colour and blended easily, giving me a very natural look. If I wore blush more regularly, I could see myself building up the colour to be a stronger pink, but I didn’t want to over do it. I wore it over Welcos Killing Me Zombie BB Cream/Etude House Secret Beam Powder Pact and it helped pinken the yellowish tone that I sort of get from that makeup. I think this will be the perfect complement to the Asian makeup products I’ve been addicted to of late.

ro7

ro6

Brazen Eyeshadow – this was the perfect colour for me! I love coppery coloured shadows, and since my Revlon Copper Canyon palette is wearing very thin (I’ve hit pan so deep I can practically see my face in it), I’ve been looking for a good replacement product. I build it up and apply heavily to give a deep, strong colour.

ro4

ro2

ro3ro5

Vixen Lipgloss – not too sticky, and mildly peppermint scented, this won’t convert me to being a pink lipgloss wearer, but I do use it layered over lipstick – looks quite cool over black to make it more wearable. I found the squeeze tube made it clean and easy to apply. I’d love to try the shade Goddess!

ro8

ro9

Having just checked out their site, I’ve seen some gorgeous new things I am now eyeing up – you might just see another Ro Vie review from me soon. I am also pleased to say that Ro Vie are officially cruelty-free, which is absolutely awesome ❤

This was received as a prize from Beauty Review. By clicking my link, and signing up for free, I receive 50 Beauty Points. Thank you to my 9 1/2 month old son for lending me his play mat for background photos and ‘assisting’ with product photography 🙂

Leave a Reply

