Maybelline Color Sensational Elixir Lipsticks – Signature Scarlet and Vision in Violet

scarletsigviolet

This has been sitting in my draft folder pretty much since I first started the blog, so it’s about time I finished it! I was waiting to do swatches, so I can finally upload those now.

visionviolet scarletsig

 

Apologies for how terrible the photos are!

Color Elixirs took awhile to get to New Zealand, and were released here around July if I recall correctly (I’m really wishing I’d finished this post a lot sooner!).  I bought two, ‘Vision in Violet’ (ie – the purple one), and ‘Signature Scarlet’ (that would be the red one).  I was hoping ‘Vision in Violet’ would replace my L’Oreal Caresse Shine in ‘Milady’, but they are actually two completely different colours. The dot in the swatch photo is a sample of ‘Milady’, for comparison sake.

During the time I purchased them, I was quite sick and exhausted in my pregnancy, so didn’t always have the energy to apply much makeup.  These were great as they were lower maintenance than lipstick, quick and easy to apply and the red one really picked up my whole look. The purple was less flattering unfortunately.

Maybelline Color Elixirs are still available through Maybelline retailers, or online (for example, at SplashStore).

I did not receive any compensation/discounts/etc for this post and am not affiliated with any mentioned stores. I prefer to promote cruelty-free brands, so in the interests of full disclosure, I would like to point out that Maybelline are NOT currently cruelty-free, please keep this in mind when you purchase. 

 

Leave a Reply

