My Kereru Collection – Natural, NZ Made Products

— Photos coming soon! —

I have been a huge fan of NZ Brand Kereru for quite some time, and I think everyone should know how excellent (and affordably priced) their wonderful products are.

My current Kereru stash includes:

Rosewater – This is a cheap and cheerful product that everyone should have in their beauty stash! I love the way this smells and feels, and at just $6 it’s as cheap as the generic brands which are often full of phthlates and crap. It makes my skin feel soft, smooth and refreshed. I also love to put some in a little spray bottle (mine were from Coin Save, most dollar stores have them) and spritz it on when I feel like it.

Cold Balm – This is an amazing product! When I’m sick, I love using chest rubs. I’m a total hippy when it comes to cold and flu remedies, and I like to use products that are as natural and gentle as possible. Even the most basic ‘chest rub’ products that are top sellers in pharmacies and supermarkets usually contain turpentine (ew! Yes, even the ones designed for babies!), so my top choices for chest rubs are this one by Kereru, and also the Eucalyptus/Plantago Chest Rub by Weleda.

Almond Oil – This is my go-to eye makeup remover, you can’t beat the price! It can feel a bit oily compared to traditional makeup removers, but it’s gentle and moisturising – I love it! It makes a good body oil too, and you can mix it with other things to make massage oil too.

Jojoba Oil – I used to use this for making homemade body creams, bath stuff, etc. A small bottle goes a long way, although mine used to harden in the cold weather (not a problem as it warms back up again easily).

Fragrance  Oils – I have White Musk, Strawberry, Opium, Vanilla, Rose, Ylang Ylang and Sandalwood. I used to use these frequently in bath salts, etc, and also put a few drops in with my laundry to make my clothes smell nice.

Essential Oils – I’ve used up all of mine now, but I have had Lavender and Eucalyptus and found them both great.

Calendula and Manuka Honey Skin Cream (Lavender) – I purchased mine from Matchbox Studios, a small boutique and art gallery in Cuba St, Wellington.  I can’t see it on their site, so you may have to go in store to purchase it from them.  I’m not a huge fan of lavender, but the other fragrance option was Tea Tree, which my skin is too sensitive for, and I ended up really liking this product anyway.  I used this all over my body during Spring, which can be a bad time of year for my skin, and I think it helped lots. It had a nice texture too, and the fragrance wasn’t as over powering as I thought it may be.  Actually just writing this made me realise I need to buy another one!

I’ve owned lots of Kereru products over the years, so there’s a few I’ve used up a long time ago but don’t remember well enough to write about.  I usually buy them from Commonsense Organics stores or at the Newtown Festival every March. You can also buy directly from their site.

Please use natural/herbal remedies with caution and seek the advice of a medical professional. My reviews are unbiased, presented in good faith, and are based on my personal experiences only – individual results may vary!  The products mentioned may contain ingredients that interact with medications you may be on, or not  be suitable in pregnancy, or not appropriate for you for other reasons.  I have no affiliation with Kereru and all items reviewed were purchased with my own money at full retail cost. 

Leave a Reply

